Mormon doctrine in The Chosen Season 3?

According to Rick Becker:

Great observation by Drew Gosnell:

“I can’t find that in the Bible, but I can in THE BOOK OF MORMON.

This is the “mic drop” moment of the new season 3 trailer for ”The Chosen”. Jesus says to the Pharisee, “I am the Law of Moses.” (emphasis added)

Jesus is not the Law. The Law reveals the righteous standard of the Holy God. It reveals our depravity. It points us to Christ but it is not Christ itself. Jesus came to fulfill the Law, by obeying it perfectly on our behalf. Jesus had several “I AM” statements, all of tremendous importance, but He never said “I AM the Law of Moses”.

But in the Book of Mormon you’ll find the LDS version of Jesus saying it…

“Behold, I am the law, and the light. Look unto me, and endure to the end, and ye shall live; for unto him that endureth to the end will I give eternal life.” – 3 Nephi 15:9 (emphasis added)

Maybe this wasn’t intentional on the part of the Chosen team, but it’s a problem when your portrayal of Jesus says things not found in Scripture but rather in the Book of Mormon.

Again, when Dallas Jenkins says to “Get used to different”, our reply should be…

“Let’s not get used to a different Jesus”.”

3 thoughts on “Mormon doctrine in The Chosen Season 3?

  1. Thank you for this information! My church is showing part 2 of this series. When I brought up my concerns to the leader, one of her questions was if there was any Mormon teaching she should be aware of. Now I can share this with her.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Between that and the overhumanzed version of this jesus being depicted (see the “sermon prep” issue in the prior season as one of many examples).

      Of course, Allie Beth Stuckey will insist that Mormon theology isn’t influencing the show in spite that she has admitted to having never seen it and H.I.S. Ministries is on record stating they are seeing former Mormon turned Christians are going back to Mormonism because of the show.

      Like

Leave a comment